Department of
ComputerImage: ComputerScience & Engineering

A Half- Yearly Newsletter

TECH TIMES

June 2014

PRASAD V. POTLURI SIDDHARTHA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

EDITORIAL BOARD

- 1. Dr. M.V. Rama Krishna, Professor & HEAD
- 2. Dr. S.Madhavi, Professor
- 3. Dr. A Sudheer Babu, Professor
- 4. Mrs. A Ramana Lakshmi, Assoc.Professor
- 5. Mrs .M. Sailaja, Asst.Professor
- 6. Mr. K. Syama Sundara Rao, Asst.Professor

Contents

- + Faculty Acheivements
- Faculty Publications
- Workshops Attended by Faculty
- 🖊 Students Acheivements

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering was formed in the year 1999. The department has started B.Tech program with an initial intake of 40 in the year 1999 and 120 from 2007 onwards. The department has also started M.Tech program with an initial intake of18 in the year 2006, and an increase in the intake to 36 in the year 2011. The department is accredited by NBA in the year 2007 for a period of 3 years and was reaccredited in the year2012 for a period of 2 years.

The department has 36 qualified teaching staff with 3 PhDs and 33 M.Techs. Our faculty members aim at delivering top class education blending their rich research experience with class room teaching. The entire faculty is involved in research activities and has published/presented 200 papers in national and international journals and conferences.

The department has ACM student chapter and CSI student chapter. The department offers various certification training programs to students like APSSDC Mobile App Development Program, CISCO: CCNA certification and R-Programming Certification through APSSDC-NASSCOM to make the students well prepared to face the industry. The department has also established Intel FICE Lab to encourage students with new technologies

Faculty Acheivements

1. Dr. A. Sudhir Babu got his PhD(CSE) from Acharya Nagarjuna Universirty (May'14).



2. Dr. M.V. Ramakrishna got his PhD(CSE) from Acharya Nagarjuna Universirty (June'14).



Faculty Publications :

- 1. Dr.T.V.Rao published a paper XWADF: Archtectural Pattern for Improving Performance of Web Applications in IJCSI in March,2014.
- 2. Dr.T.V.RAO published a paper An approach for emotion identification from weblog corpora in IJCTA in February-14.
- 3. D.Lokesh Saikumar published a paper Dynamic Data stream Compression Methods for Application level semantics of sensor networks in IJDCST in January 2014.
- 4. S. Phani Praveen, U. Tulasi published a paper A Study on Qos Challenges in Cloud Computing in IJCC.
- 5. Dr. S. Madhavi published a paper A Dynamic and Distributed Scheduling for Data Aggregation in Ubiquitous Sensor Networks Using Power control in HINDAWI
- 6. B.Srinivasa Rao published a paper An Approach for heart Disease Detection by Enhancing Training Phase of neural Networks Using Hybrid Algorithm in IEEE Conference on "International Advance Computing Conference – 2014 (IACC-2014), ITM University, Gurgaon, Delhi.

Workshops Attended by Faculty

1. Dr. S.Madhavi attended One Day Guest Lecture on "IPR" at VRSEC,Kanuru, Vijayawada on 18.01.2014.

- 2. A.Ramana Lakshmi attended One Day Guest Lecture on "IPR" at VRSEC,Kanuru Vijayawada on 18.01.2014.
- 3. B.Srinivasa Rao attended IEEE Conference on "International Advance Computing Conference – 2014 (IACC-2014)" at ITM University, Gurgaon, Delhi from 21-2-2014 to 22-2-2014.
- 4. B.Lakshmi Ramani attended One day national workshop on "Soft Computing Techniques in Estimation & Control "at GITAM Institute of Technology on 22-2-2014.

Sl.No	Rollno	Name Of the Student	Name of the Company
1	10501A0506	AMREEN	
2	10501A0511	BHUVANESWARI DANDAMUDI	
3	10501A0518	CHAGANTI HIMAJA	
4	10501A0524	DEEPTI GORANTLA	
5	10501A0526	DODDA VASANTHI	
6	10501A0549	KANDIMALLA JYOTHISRI	
7	10501A0556	KAVURI AJAY KRISHNA TEJA	
8	10501A0562	MAGANTI RASMITHA	
9	10501A0580	YPASUPULETI SAI SANDHYA	
10	10501A0588	RAMPALLI VENKATA SRI HARSHINI	
11	10501A05B2	VANGA PRAMEELA NAGA DURGA	DURGA TCS
12	10501A0516	BOLEM SAI DEEPTHI	
13	10501A0555	KATURI DEEPTHI	
14	10501A0557	KOLAVENNU SIVADEEPTHI	
15	10501A0566	MENDEM SURESHKUMAR	
16	10501A0574	NALLURI KAUSALYA	
17	10501A0595	SHAIK TIPPU SULTHAN	
18	10501A0597	SRAVANI POSA	
19	10501A0599	SRAVYA SARRAJU	
20	10501A05A2	TAMAVARAPU LEELA SRUTHI	AEGIS
21	09501A0566	MOHAMMAD MUNEERUNNISA	AGILE
22	10501A0527	DOGIPARTHI NIKHIL SAI CHARAN	ENTERPRIZE SOLUTIONS
23	10501A0523	DASARI VIVEK	
24	10501A0537	JAGADABI MOUNIKA	
25	10501A0539	JONNADULA GEETA KRISHNA	
26	10501A0541	JONNADULA SIREESHA	
27	10501A0599	SRAVYA SARRAJU	GLOBAL
28	10501A05A3	TATA REKHA SAI SARVANI	LOGIC

Students Acheivements:

	VELLATURI NAGA SOWJANYA	10501A05B4	29
	JONNADULA SIREESHA	10501A0541	30
	KOPPANATI SUDHA	10501A0559	31
MAHA	VELLATURI NAGA SOWJANYA	10501A05B4	32
ELECTRONICS	K.HARIKA	11505A0507	33
CTS	GOTTI SIVA NAGA LAKSHMI	10501A0533	34
INFOTECH	ILAPAKURTHY SUNITHA	10501A0535	35
ENTERPRIZES	MANNAVA SRI RAM KUMAR	10501A0563	36
TECH MAHINDRA	AJITH KUMAR PATTELLA	10501A0503	37
	KATRAGADDA KRISHNA SAI	10501A0553	38
CMC LTD	VUDDANTI DEVI VARA PRASAD	10501A05B6	39
	GEETHA SREE LELLA	10501A0530	40
VIRTUSA	KAVURI AJAY KRISHNA TEJA	10501A0556	41
VEREXO			
SOLUTIONS	DEEVI MANJULA NAGINI	10501A0525	42
	KAMBHAMPATI KRUPA PRAFULLA	10501A0545	43
ACCENTURE	VANAMA ANUSHA	10501A05B1	44
INTERGRAPH	KANDARPA V L MALAVIKA	10501A0548	45
Ways 2 captical	NALLURI KAUSALYA	10501A0574	46

Turing Award Winner JUDEA PEARL

For fundamental contributions to artificial intelligence through the development of a calculus for probabilistic and causal reasoning.



BIRTH:

September 4, 1936, Tel Aviv.

EDUCATION:

B.S., Electrical Engineering (Technion, 1960); M.S., Electronics (Newark College of Engineering, 1961); M.S., Physics (Rutgers University, 1965); Ph.D., Electrical Engineering (Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, 1965).

EXPERIENCE:

Research Engineer, New York University Medical School (1960–1961); Instructor, Newark College of Engineering (1961); Member of Technical Staff, RCA Research Laboratories, Princeton, New Jersey (1961–1965); Director, Advanced Memory Devices, Electronic Memories, Inc., Hawthorne, California (1966–1969); Assistant Professor of Engineering Systems, UCLA (1969–1970); Associate Professor of Computer Science, UCLA (1970–1976); Director, Cognitive Systems Laboratory, UCLA (from 1978); Professor of Computer Science, UCLA (from 1976—Emeritus since 1994); Professor of Statistics, UCLA (from 1996–Emeritus since 1994); President, Daniel Pearl Foundation (from 2002); International Advisory Board, NGO Monitor (from 2011).

HONORS AND AWARDS:

RCA Laboratories Achievement Award (1963); NATO Senior Fellowship in Science (1974); Pattern Recognition Society Award for an Outstanding Contribution (1978); Fellow, IEEE (1988); Fellow, American Association of Artificial Intelligence (1990); Named "The Most Published Scientist in the Artificial

Intelligence Journal," (1991); Member, National Academy of Engineering (1995); UCLA Faculty Research Lecturer of the Year (1996); IJCAI Research Excellence Award (1999); AAAI Classic Paper Award (2000); Lakatos Award, London School of Economics and Political Science (2001); Corresponding Member, Spanish Academy of Engineering (2002); Pekeris Memorial Lecture (2003); ACM Allen Newell Award (2003); Purpose Prize (2006); Honorary Doctorate, University of Toronto (2007); Honorary Doctorate, Chapman University (2008); Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computers and Cognitive Science (2008); Festschrift and Symposium in honor of Judea Pearl (2010); Rumelhart Prize Symposium in honor of Judea Pearl (2011); David E. Rumelhart Prize (2011); IEEE Intelligent Systems' AI Hall of Fame (2011); ACM Turing Award (2011); Harvey Prize (2012); elected to National Academy of Sciences (2014).